Clayton Oliver goes big with another Melbourne Demons best and fairest

0 5

A career-best season for the 25-year-old, Redman was a standout across the Bombers’ backline, averaging 21.2 disposals, 15.6 kicks and 6.2 marks.

Fellow defender Jordan Ridley rounded out the top five. The 23-year-old impressed with his composure and reliability in defence.

Jayden Laverde finished sixth in the count and was also awarded the Adam Ramanauskas most courageous player award.

Nic Martin was recognised for his excellent debut year, being named the Lindsay Griffiths rising star, while Sam Draper and Andrew McGrath were awarded the John Kilby staff and trainers’ Award.

At the event, Essendon’s wheelchair team captain Louis Rowe announced that he was stepping down from his leadership role after five years capped by an impressive most recent season, in which they made the grand final.

Rowe was the league’s longest-serving captain and was presented with a gift from Dyson Heppell on behalf of the club in recognition of his contribution to the game and the legacy he has left for future wheelchair football athletes.

Crichton Medal leaderboard:

  1. Peter Wright (242)
  2. Zach Merrett (230)
  3. Matt Guelfi (211)
  4. Mason Redman (209)
  5. Jordan Ridley (191)
  6. Jayden Laverde (180)
  7. Jake Kelly (179)
  8. Nic Martin (164)
  9. Darcy Parish, Dylan Shiel and Nick Hind (155)
  10. Andrew McGrath (141)

Other awards
Bruce Heymanson best clubman – Mason Redman
Adam Ramanauskas most courageous player – Jayden Laverde
Matthew Lloyd leading goal kicker – Peter Wright
Lindsay Griffiths rising star – Nic Martin
Most improved player – Mason Redman
John Kilby staff and trainers’ award – Sam Draper and Andrew McGrath
McCracken Medal – Matt Guelfi

Four to the floor: Clayton Oliver goes big with another Melbourne Demons best and fairest

Melbourne midfielder Clayton Oliver has reaffirmed his growing star status by claiming his fourth Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy at the club’s best and fairest on Friday night.

The 25-year-old enters the history books as the equal best winners of the ‘Bluey’, joining the illustrious company of past Melbourne greats Allan La Fontaine and Jim Stynes.

He topped the count with 608 votes, narrowly beating his partner in the engine room, Christian Petracca (553 votes), who won the best and fairest in 2020.

Clayton Oliver wins fourth Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial TrophyCredit:Quinn Rooney via Getty

Oliver’s accolade comes after another outstanding season, where the former No.4 draft pick averaged 33 disposals across 23 matches. Added to his reliability, he only missed one game due to injury.

Oliver’s latest achievement caps off an impressive 2022 campaign, where he was recognised as the joint winner AFLCA Champion Player of the Year (with Touk Miller), earned his third All-Australian blazer and finished equal-fourth in the Brownlow Medal.

Melbourne coach Simon Goodwin praised Oliver’s consistency and said the honour was a great reward for his effort and contribution to the team.

“For Clayton to be awarded his fourth club best and fairest at such a young age is an incredible effort and something he should be really proud of,” Goodwin said.

“Clayton has had another consistent season, where he has been able to perform his role to an exceptional level, while winning his own footy and driving his teammates to new levels.

“He works incredibly hard on improving his game every week and there is no coincidence that the work he does has reflected Clayton’s outstanding season.”

Petracca took home the Sid Anderson Memorial Trophy as runner-up, adding to his third All-Australian selection this year, while key defender Steven May (473 votes) was presented with the Ron Barassi Snr Memorial Trophy for a third-place finish.

Vice-captain Jack Viney (471 votes) finished in fourth place off the back of another hard-fought year, taking home the Ivor Warne Smith Memorial Trophy, with fellow onballer Angus Brayshaw (446 votes) received the Dick Taylor Memorial Trophy to round out the top five.

The pair were further recognised on the night, with Viney the recipient of the TRUE Player Award, most representative of the club’s values, and Brayshaw collecting the club’s leadership award.

Jake Bowey won Best Young Player of 2022, with Luke Dunstan and Tom Sparrow presented the Best VFL Player and Coaches Award respectively.

Ben Brown claimed the club ambassador award for his work at community level.

2022 Keith ‘Bluey’ Truscott Memorial Trophy – Top 10

Clayton Oliver – 608 votes

Christian Petracca – 553 votes

Steven May – 473 votes

Jack Viney – 471 votes

Angus Brayshaw – 446 votes

Max Gawn – 430 votes

Bayley Fritsch – 395 votes

Kysaiah Pickett – 391 votes

Alex Neal-Bullen – 384 votes

Ed Langdon – 367 votes

Troy Broadbridge Memorial Trophy – Best VFL Player

Luke Dunstan

James McDonald Trophy – TRUE player

Jack Viney

Ian Ridley Memorial Trophy – Club Ambassador Award

Ben Brown

Harold Ball Memorial Trophy – Best Young Player

Jake Bowey

Ron Barassi Jnr Trophy – Leadership Award

Angus Brayshaw

Norm Smith Memorial Trophy – Coaches Award

Tom Sparrow

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.